Lee’s Summit R-7 community group travels to Jefferson City to advocate for public schools

// Posted By Janie Rohlfing

Citizens share district’s legislative platform, discuss public education funding and issues

Members of several Lee’s Summit R-7 School District community groups traveled to Jefferson City Jan. 24 to talk to state elected officials representing this area as well as other General Assembly leaders. The group spent the day advocating for adequate and fair funding for public schools and other legislative priorities.

Individuals participating in the advocacy day were representatives of the R-7 Board of Education and Citizens’ Advisory Committee. The group consisted of Phyllis Balagna, Jackie Clark and Dennis Smith of the Board of Education; Dr. Dennis L. Carpenter, superintendent; Elaine Bluml, Mia Fulson, Stephen Hill, Mike Johnson, Cita Trice and Mark Van Blaricum, all of the Citizens’ Advisory Committee. Also attending was Rick McDowell of the Lee’s Summit Economic Development Council.

The group met with the following legislators from the Lee’s Summit R-7 area: Sen. Mike Cierpiot, Rep. Rebecca Roeber, Rep. Dan Stacy, Rep. Donna Pfautsch and Rep. Rick Brattin. In addition, the community members met with the following General Assembly members: Sen. Gary Romine, Senate Education Committee chair; Rep. Kathryn Swan, House Elementary and Secondary Education Committee chair; and Rep. Elijah Haahr, House majority floor leader. The group met with Mike Reid of the Missouri School Board Association and Ryan Stauffer of the Missouri Chamber of Commerce to discuss education and workforce issues. They were also introduced on both the floor of the Missouri Senate and House.

During the meetings with lawmakers, the community members focused on the district’s legislative priorities for the 2018 Missouri General Assembly session and discussed pending legislation.

The R-7 School District’s complete list of legislative priorities is available on the district’s website at http://www.lsr7.org/district/2013-legislative-platform/. This website also includes a Toolkit for Advocacy and contact information for elected officials. Community members are also invited to sign up for the district’s legislative electronic advocacy newsletter by visiting http://eepurl.com/KnDQL .  

Rep. Kathryn Swan (center) is pictured with Dr. Dennis Carpenter, R-7 superintendent, and Jackie Clark, R-7 Board of Education member.







Pictured with Rep. Elijah Haahr (center) are (front row, from left) Mark Van Blaricum, Mia Fulson, Cita Trice, Jackie Clark, (back row, from left) Dr. Dennis Carpenter, Stephen Hill, Dennis Smith, Elaine Bluml, Mike Johnson, Rick McDowell and Phyllis Balagna.






Sen. Mike Cierpiot introduces the Lee’s Summit R-7 group on the floor of the Missouri Senate.









The group meets with Sen. Gary Romine in his office. Pictured are (front row, from left) Stephen Hill, Cita Trice, Mia Fulson, Jackie Clark, Phyllis Balagna, (back row, from left) Mike Johnson, Elaine Bluml, Mark Van Blaricum, Dr. Dennis Carpenter, Sen. Romine and Dennis Smith.

Get Social









District Newsletter Signup


Other News Publications