Legislative Advocacy

The Lee’s Summit R-7 School District’s tradition of excellence is the result of a collaborative effort among its supportive stakeholders.  A persistent focus on meeting the needs of each student will result in a legacy unparalleled by our peers in public education.  This legacy of excellence cannot be left to chance and requires ongoing advocacy on behalf of the close to 18,000 students served by the R-7 School District.  It is our responsibility.

Area Elected Officials    Toolkit for Advocacy  Sign Up For R-7 Advocacy Newsletter


Printable version

2018 Priority Positions
In the interest of public education, we ask the Missouri General Assembly to:Key Legislative Priorities

  • Support appropriations to fully fund the Missouri Foundation Formula and maintain the integrity of the existing Formula. This includes full funding of early childhood education through increased appropriation in the Formula as well as ensuring there are no decreases to the Formula’s State Adequacy Target.
  • Support increased school board oversight of income tax credit program reform and comprehensive corporate income tax credit program reform.
  • Oppose legislation that impairs or reduces the authority of local school boards and their ability to be accountable to district stakeholders.
  • Oppose K-12 withholdings to balance the state budget.
  • Oppose efforts to adopt vouchers, tuition tax credits and scholarship tax credits, all of which would reduce revenue needed to fully fund the Foundation Formula.
  • Support establishment of a visiting scholar certificate for teaching.
  • Support legislation that requires all charter schools to be held to the same standards as public schools, including determination of accreditation status with tax funds designated for charter schools placed under control of a publicly elected board.
  • Support legislation to expand the state’s A+ program to include funding for tuition for high-school students earning qualifying dual college credit during their high-school years.

Additional Legislative Issues

  • Support fully funding the transportation formula, including modifying the provision that penalizes school districts when they transport highly mobile students back to their original school of attendance.
  • Support the creation and development of a system of interventions and support that leads to improvements in achievement for provisionally accredited and unaccredited school districts.  
  • Support legislation that requires the unanimous support of all taxing jurisdictions for any tax abatement project or otherwise provide an opt-out provision.  
  • Support the full funding of education mandates in accordance with the Missouri constitution.
  • Support the continuation of existing property tax relief for senior citizens within reasonable income limitations as well as legislation stipulating the enactment of sound and timely property tax assessment practices.
  • Support funding for intensive professional development that provides a comprehensive and sustainable approach to improving district staff members’ effectiveness in raising student achievement.  
  • Support the provision of a simple majority for the passage of local school district bond issues as well as increasing the bonding capacity for school districts.
  • Support legislation that provides for continuing flexibility with MSIP resource and process standards, salary compliance and the professional development allocation.
  • Oppose legislation which reduces the benefits provided by the current state public school retirement systems (PSRS and PEERS).
  • Oppose legislation that authorizes any statewide mandate regarding open enrollment.  
  • Oppose any legislation that would reduce summer school funding.
  • Oppose legislation that sets percentages for school district fund balances.
  • Oppose any amendment to the Missouri Constitution to allow the distribution of state monies directly or indirectly to non-public educational entities or organizations.

Lee’s Summit R-7 National, State and County Elected Officials 2018

Printable version

U.S. Elected Officials:

U.S. Senator Roy Blunt
United States Senate
260 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: 202.224.5721 Fax: 202.224.8149

Dist. 5 U.S. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver
U.S. House of Representatives
1433 Longworth HOB
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202.225.4535 Fax: 202.225.4403
Contact by e-mail at this webpage-

Dist. 6 U.S. Rep. Sam Graves
U.S. House of Representatives
1415 Longworth HOB
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202.225.7041 Fax: 202.225.8221
Contact by e-mail at this webpage-

Dist. 4 U.S. Rep. Vicky Hartzler
U.S. House of Representatives
1023 Longworth HOB
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202.225.2876 Fax: 202.225.0148
Contact by e-mail at this webpage-

U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill
United States Senate
Hart Senate Office Building, Ste. 506
Washington, D.C. 20510
Phone 202.224.6154 Fax 202.228.6326
Contact by e-mail at this webpage-

Missouri Elected Officials:

Gov. Eric Greitens – Inauguration date Jan. 9, 2017
Missouri State Capitol
201 W. Capitol Ave.
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 8 Sen. Mike Cierpiot
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 431
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 9 Sen. Shalonn “Kiki” Curls
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 434
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 7 Sen. Jason Holsman
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 421
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 11 Sen. John Rizzo
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 425
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 55 Rep. Rick Brattin
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 114-C
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 30 VACANT until Fall 2018 election

Dist. 35 Rep. Gary Cross
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 112
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 33 Rep. Donna Pfautsch
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 404B
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 34 Rep. Rebecca Roeber
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 201-CA
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 29 Rep. Rory Rowland
District includes small part of R-7
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 109-F
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 37 Rep. Joe Runions
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 109-B
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Dist. 31 Rep. Dan Stacy
201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 400-CB
Jefferson City, MO 65101

County Elected Officials:

County Executive Frank White
Jackson County Courthouse
415 E. 12th Street
2nd Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106

Dist. 6 County Legislator Theresa Galvin
Jackson County Courthouse Annex
415 E. 12th St.
2nd Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106

Lee’s Summit R-7 supporters invited to subscribe to electronic newsletter focusing on legislative advocacy

Lee’s Summit R-7 School District community members and other interested individuals are invited to subscribe to the school district’s electronic newsletter, known as “R-7 Advocacy.” The newsletter is designed to provide subscribers with relevant and timely information about legislative activities and proposals as well as opportunities to speak out on behalf of the district’s schools and students.

The majority of newsletter issues are sent to subscribers several times each month during the Missouri General Assembly session, January through May. The newsletter’s frequency depends on ongoing General Assembly activities and other state, national and local legislative news. “R-7 Advocacy” features information as well as occasional requests for subscribers to consider contacting their elected officials about specific proposed legislation that could impact R-7 students.

To sign up for “R-7 Advocacy,” visit http://eepurl.com/KnDQL or send your request to Janice.phelan@Lsr7.net.

Missouri Voter Outreach Center
By visiting this webpage and entering your address, you can locate your polling place, determine your precinct number, find upcoming elections and view candidates and issues.

Get Social









District Newsletter Signup


Other News Publications